Serving clients in person
Nationally and Internationally
and via telephone, Skype, email
and instant messenger

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish


Astrological Houses

smaller text tool iconmedium text tool iconlarger text tool icon

An astrology chart consists of 12 houses. Houses are areas of the solar system. Each house is ruled by a Sun Sign and the energies, issues and associations of each house are related to the Sign traits. It is easy to connect the associations, once you read more about Sun Sign traits under the Sun Signs page. Below you can find information about the 12 astrological houses and rulerships.

The fact that there are twelve houses in our astrological chart is truly symbolic. If we look throughout history and in many cultures, the number twelve is very important. In the Bible, we have the twelve tribes of Israel and Jacob had twelve sons whose traits are associated with the twelve signs of the zodiac. A more basic symbolism is that there are twelve months in a year. The houses in our chart are very important because they represent how our Sun Sign will manifest and express itself in the world. The house placements are crucial in determining how and where our energies will manifest. Below, I will give a brief description of the Twelve Houses of the Zodiac.

First House:

Ruled by Aries - Planet Mars

  • The first house represents your identity, personality and physical appearance.
  • It represents the way others see you.
  • The first house is known as the ascendant or rising sign.
  • The first house is ruled by the sign Aries and the energy of this house is intense and very powerful just like an Arian personality.

Second House:

Ruled by Taurus - Planet Venus

  • The second house rules finances, money, possessions, property on a material level.
  • On a deeper level, this house represents where we find self-worth and where we find our values and what is important to us.
  • It is where we feel safe, comfortable and find stability in the world.
  • The second house is ruled by sign Taurus and the energy of this house is stable, comfortable, and material focused.

Third House:

Ruled by Gemini - Planet Mercury

  • The third house rules communication, speaking, writing and siblings.
  • It represents short journeys and travels within the immediate environment.
  • The third house is also known to encompass everything “basic” such as basic math, reading, language and information.
  • Spreading information either through words or writing are the energies of this house.
  • The third house is ruled by the sign Gemini.

Fourth House:

Ruled by Cancer - Planet Moon

  • The fourth house rules the home and family.
  • It is associated with the home we grew up in as a child and the family we develop as an adult.
  • The fourth house is where we find our emotional security.
  • All issues relating to one’s family and home are encompassed within the fourth house.
  • The fourth house is ruled by the sign Cancer.

Fifth House:

Ruled by Leo - Planet Sun

  • The fifth house energy is associated with being creative, expressing oneself and romance.
  • Love affairs, acting, sports, recreation and children rule the fifth house.
  • Anything done for fun and as a way of expressing our creative urges comes under the fifth house.
  • The fifth house is ruled by the sign Leo.

Sixth House:

Ruled by Virgo - Planet Mercury

  • The sixth house energy represents work, routine and health.
  • Working and serving others, health concerns, and routine service are all sixth house issues.
  • Having a structured routine, service to others and focusing on our health or working within a healthcare system can be associated with this house.
  • The sixth house is ruled by the sign Virgo.

Seventh House:

Ruled by Libra - Planet Venus

  • The seventh house rules marriage and partnerships.
  • Our need for a mate, partner and companionship are crucial issues related to this house.
  • Forming a commitment and a bond with someone is paramount.
  • The seventh house is ruled by the sign Libra.

Eighth House:

Ruled by Scorpio - Planet Pluto & Mars

  • The Eighth house is associated with death, other people’s resources, inheritances and sexual bonding.
  • All issues that are deep, intense and taboo are associated with this house.
  • Energies of this house are very powerful and extremely regenerative.
  • Many changes and upheavals may manifest within this house and constant growth is experienced.
  • Experiences with astral entities, ghosts and spirits are common.
  • Sacrificing one’s self or emotions for others or other people’s sacrifices for you are usually manifested.
  • The eighth house is ruled by the sign Scorpio.
  • At the end of this book you will find an in-depth article written about my experiences with the Eighth House.
Dim lights Download Embed Embed this video on your site

Ninth House:

Ruled by Sagittarius - Planet Jupiter

  • The Ninth house represents travel, higher education, religion, philosophy and morals.
  • Long distant travel to foreign cultures is highlighted in this house.
  • Interest in other cultures, beliefs and attitudes is significant.
  • There is a desire to travel and a restless urge to keep moving.
  • Pursuing knowledge in many forms such as higher education or advanced studies are associated with this house.
  • The ninth house is ruled by the sign Sagittarius.

Tenth House:

Ruled by Capricorn - Planet Saturn

  • The Tenth house is associated with career and the public.
  • All issues relating to work, career and being successful are related to this house.
  • Where we find our place in the outside world and where we shine are all tenth house issues.
  • This house is associated with status and achievement.
  • The tenth house is ruled by the sign Capricorn.

Eleventh House:

Ruled by Aquarius - Planet Uranus

  • The Eleventh house rules friendships, groups, and organizations.
  • All casual friendships and group efforts are associated with this house.
  • Serving others and working with others for a common goal are characteristic of this house energy.
  • The friendships associated with this house are more superficial and casual.
  • The eleventh house is ruled by the sign Aquarius.

Twelfth House:

Ruled by Pisces - Planet Neptune

  • The Twelfth house is associated with secret relationship, secret love affairs, confinement, and escapism through drugs, alcohol or other self-destructive means.
  • Superconscious experiences and mystical experiences are highlighted.
  • Meditation and experiences with psychic phenomenon are commonly found within this house.
  • Working behind the scenes and serving others is the key to a successful navigation of this house.
  • This is the house of suffering and sacrifice.
  • The Twelfth house is ruled by the sign Pisces.
  • At the end of this book, you can find an article written about my experiences with the Twelfth House.
Dim lights Download Embed Embed this video on your site

Follow Me

Linked In: carmen-turner-schott-msw-lisw/2/3a4/698 Facebook: group.php?gid=65237942336 Blogger: astrology-awareness Norfolk Magazine: Norfolk Magazine Twitter: astroawareness BBS Radio: astrologyawareness All Things Healing: All Things Healing

Skype with Carmen

Contact Carmen without hesitation by clicking the Skype button below.

My state

If you do not have Skype send me an email or contact us at (314) 435-6098

Edgar Cayce Foundation


Association for Research & Enlightenment
The Edgar Cayce Foundation eGroups taught by Carmen Turner-Schott
"Explore the Mysteries of the Eighth and Twelfth Astrological Houses"
"Explore Astrology in the Bible"